Back home - Reisverslag uit Loei, Thailand van Els Dam - WaarBenJij.nu Back home - Reisverslag uit Loei, Thailand van Els Dam - WaarBenJij.nu

Back home

Door: Els van Dam

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Els

02 Januari 2013 | Thailand, Loei

It’s been our second day in Thailand, and yet we still don’t believe we’re actually here. Though for me, it feels like I’ve never really left this country. It feels like going back to the Netherlands has only been a hazy dream.

We travelled this day from Bangkok to Udon Thani by plane, and went further to Loei by bus. From the moment we got out of the bus in Loei, people started staring at us, because in contrast to Bangkok foreigners are really rare around here. After an hour, my host mom finally arrived to pick us up. We went directly to my old school to pick up my host sister. It felt so good to be sitting in the car next to my mom again, just like the old times. At school I got to hug my host sister again, a really nice and beautiful small Thai girl with an amazing personality. Once again, it felt so good.

We walked around the school a bit, and I showed Bob where my classes were last year. The school has many huge buildings with during a normal school day around 4000 students in it. I was a little bit scared, knowing that we would join school the following day.

On the way home we stopped at a house unknown. The house appeared to be the new home of my grandparents. Which is really extraordinary because in Thailand the grandparents always live with their youngest child. And so did my grandparents last year. But for some reason my kind of modern Thai grandparents think they’re doing just fine living on their own. Which I think is absolutely cool. We were all very excited and followed the Thai greeting by taking as many photos as we could.

And then, we were finally home. Not for long though, just for taking a shower and changing our clothes in according to Bob a surprising bathroom. I’ll post a photo of it later, but I can describe it a little bit now. It’s a small square with a very low ceiling. There’s a toilet, the kind you have to stand on, and the small shower is not working you wash yourself with a bucket of cold water. Sounds great right? Bob thinks so! I even remember Bob asking me while he was brushing his teeth: ‘Els, where do I have to leave the toothpaste in my mouth?’ Me saying in a chill way : ‘You have to spit in on the ground and wash it away with water’ Bob again: ‘Oh yeah, sure’

In the evening we went to the local fitness centre, a place where people exercise on broken equipment. A place where people are actually just chatting and playing games on the Ipads. I have to admit that it was the first fitness centre I would go more often.

At last, we went to walking street. This is a street where people can buy food in all kind of little shops on the side of the road. When we got here, Bob finally understood why I gained lots and lots of kilos last year. Because seriously, everything tastes good!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Loei

Terug naar thuis, terug naar Thailand

Terug naar thuis

Recente Reisverslagen:

09 Januari 2013

Problemo

06 Januari 2013

Unexpected

02 Januari 2013

Back home

02 Januari 2013

First Impression

30 December 2012

FI-NAL-LY
Els

Hallooo, Ik ben Els van Dam en dit is mijn blog. Hier kun je lezen over mijn eerste ervaring in Thailand als uitwisselingsstudent. Ik heb zo'n 4 maanden in Loei, het Noordoosten, gewoond, en ongeveer 6 maanden Trat, het Zuidoosten. Vanaf 1 Januari 2013 komen er meer verslagen bij. Deze zullen gaan over mijn twee weekse terugkomst in Thailand, waarin ik mijn beide gast families, na 6 maanden weg geweest te zijn, weer zal zien.

Actief sinds 26 Juni 2011
Verslag gelezen: 337
Totaal aantal bezoekers 41091

Voorgaande reizen:

01 December 2012 - 14 December 2012

Terug naar thuis, terug naar Thailand

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: